Royal Sovereign Stakes 2011 Nominations

February 8th, 2011

Fifteen quality three-year-old colts and geldings have been nominated for the 2011 Royal Sovereign Stakes, one of the four Group races running at the Royal Randwick this Saturday February 12 at the latest Sydney Autumn Racing Carnival meeting.

The $175,000 Group 2 Royal Sovereign Stakes (1200m) entries feature a number of Group winning gallopers including the Chris Waller-trained Pressday and Commands colt Skilled.

Domesday colt Pressday won the Group 1 T.J. Smith Stakes (1600m) at Eagle Farm in June of last year and at his last start claimed victory in the Group 2 Sandown Guineas (1600m) on November 13.

The Peter Snowden-trained Skilled was in great form during the autumn of 2010 running second to Yosei in the Group 1 Inglis Sire’s Produce Stakes (1400m) defeated by the narrowest of margins before scoring victory in the Group 1 Champagne Stakes (1600m) at Randwick on April 24.

Skilled’s spring campaign wasn’t quite as successful but they will still get plenty of attention in the Royal Sovereign Stakes betting markets at Luxbet.

Other top-rated Royal Sovereign Stakes nominees are David Payne’s rising colt Masquerader, last-start runner-up in the Victoria Derby Praecido, Redoute’s Choice colt Beneteau and the Gai Waterhouse-trained Brightexpectations.

The final field of Royal Sovereign Stakes acceptors is due for release this Wednesday February 9 and will be published here along with the barrier draw so bookmark this site.

Want a better betting deal than the TAB offers?

All you need to do to have instant access to longer odds and enjoy higher winning payouts all autumn is to open an account with leading online bookmaker Luxbet. It takes just five minutes and you will enjoy a FREE BET up to $400 simply by entering the promo code BONUS400!

2011 Royal Sovereign Stakes Nominations

# Horse Trainer Balot Weight (kg) Handicapper Rating
1 PRESSDAY Chris Waller 1 56 99
2 MASQUERADER David Payne 2 56 94
3 BENETEAU Paul Messara 3 56 90
4 SKILLED Peter Snowden 4 56 98
5 PRAECIDO (NZ) David Payne 5 56 92
6 ILOVETHISCITY Grahame Begg 6 56 85
7 MASTER HARRY Peter G Moody 7 56 74
8 BRIGHTEXPECTATIONS Gai Waterhouse 8 56 87
9 TOP DROP Gerald Ryan 9 56 83
10 SLATER Chris Waller 10 56 71
11 NO HESITATION Clarry Conners 11 56 76
12 AUDACIOUS SPIRIT Gillian Heinrich 12 56 74
13 LIGHT BRIGADE Gai Waterhouse 13 56 67
14 FROM THE VAULT Mark de Montfort 14 56 72
15 GENKI MOOCHI (NZ) Jason Coyle 15 56 65